Thank you, Salem Film Fest!

My wife, dog, and I hopped in the car on Friday morning at 7:00 and drove 17 hours to Salem, MA to be part of the Salem Film Fest. It’s a really cool documentary-only and invite-only documentary film festival that is in its 4th year.

Winnie and Guff

We arrived early morning and stayed at the Salem Inn, which was built in 1835. I got up a few hours later for a first time documentary filmmakers panel with three other filmmakers from two films: A Good Day to Die, and The Sons of Perdition. It was a fun panel, and despite their films’ subject-matters being quite different than Breaking and Entering, I felt a kinship with them. They clearly have a lot of passion and it was nice to see.

Screening

The screening went really well, and we had a good Q and A afterwards. We met a great woman there named Rhonda Moskowitz who is working on her own documentary, and actually started a documentary filmmaking club in Boston where they talk about their docs, show rough cuts, etc… called Connect the Docs. Couldn’t meet a nicer woman, and I can’t wait to see her film in early 2012.

My wife, Winnie, and I ended up hanging out a bit later with Jennilyn Merten (The Sons of Perdition), and swapped war stories. I haven’t seen her film yet, but listening to what she went through shooting her documentary had me on the edge of my seat, so I’ll definitely check it out when it comes to Chicago. I think she said that it will be on Oprah’s OWN channel in August. Winnie tried on her glasses later and is trying to find her own pair on ebay.

Before I go to these film festivals I always promise myself that I’ll take a lot of pictures and that I’ll have the audience sign up for the mailing list, and I always forget to do both. But I have a few pictures here.

As always, I regret not going to more screenings, but it was tough with our dog, Guffman, being there.

Now Winnie, Guffman, and I are unwinding and catching up on emails at her family friend’s house in Cape Cod. It’s off-season, but going on long walks during the day and eating good food at night is good for the soul.

Thanks to Salem and the film festival!

Glasses

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thank you, Salem Film Fest!

  1. Thanks for your kind words, Benjamin! I really enjoyed your film, Breaking and Entering, and also enjoyed meeting you and your lovely wife, Winnie! Safe travels back home. I hope our paths cross again!

  2. Thanks for your kind words, Benjamin! I enjoyed your film, Breaking and Entering. It was a pleasure to meet you and your lovely wife, Winnie. Safe travels back home. I hope our paths cross again!

Leave a comment